How to manage your FTP access details

Applies to:
Professional Hosting
Business Hosting

Difficulty:
Easy

Time Needed:
10 minutes

Introduction

This is a quick step-by-step guide to viewing, editing, adding and removing FTP users via the 34SP.com Control Panel.


Article Contents


Please note: For help on how to use FTP Lock, please read 'How to lock and unlock FTP access'.



How to view your FTP access details


Step 1

Login to your account

Firstly, you'll need to login into your 34SP.com account at http://account.34sp.com.

Login to your account

Step 2

Choose 'Manage Sites'

Once you have logged in, click on the 'Manage Sites' icon.


This will bring up a list of websites or domain names you have in your 34SP.com account. Simply choose the website you wish to edit by clicking on it.

Choose 'Manage Sites'

Step 3

Choose 'FTP'

After you have clicked on the website you wish to edit, you will be presented with your website overview page. Choose 'FTP' from the product navigation.

Choose 'FTP'

Step 4

Managing your FTP Users

The 'FTP Settings' page provides an overview of your FTP users, with each account listed in a table. Along with viewing information on each user, you can edit or remove FTP users.

Please note: You cannot remove the primary FTP account.

Choose 'Manage FTP Users'

How to add a new FTP user


Step 1

Add new FTP user

If you wish to add a new FTP User, simply click on the button labelled 'Add New FTP User' when viewing the 'FTP Settings' page.

Add New FTP User

Step 2

Enter FTP user information

This will bring up a form. Simply fill in the form with the relevant information. When you're done, click 'Create New User' to save your changes.

Enter FTP user information

How to edit your FTP password


Step 1

Edit your FTP Password

Due to security reasons, it is not possible to view a password for an FTP account. If you do not know you FTP password, we recommend you reset it. To change or reset an FTP password, simply click on tname of user you wish to edit, when viewing the 'FTP Settings' page.

Edit your FTP Password

Step 2

Enter your new password

This will bring up a form. Simply fill in the fields with your new password. When you're done, click 'Save Settings' to save your changes.

Please note: It is not possible to edit a username of an FTP user.

Enter your new password

How to delete an existing FTP User


Step 1

Remove FTP User

If you wish to delete a existing FTP user simply click on the 'Remove' button (the 'trash' icon) for the user you wish to delete, when viewing the 'FTP Settings' page. This will remove the user permanently.

Please note: It is not possible to remove the main FTP account.

Remove FTP User

Was this helpful?

   
92 people found this article helpful