How to manage your databases

Applies to:
Reseller Hosting

Difficulty:
Easy

Time Needed:
5 minutes

Introduction

This is a quick step-by-step guide to viewing, editing, adding and removing databases & database users on a Reseller Hosting account, via the Plesk 12.5 control panel.


Article Contents


Please note: This KB article is for Reseller Hosting accounts purchased after December 2014.



How to view your databases


Step 1

Login to your account

Firstly you'll need to login into your Plesk 12.5 control panel, which will be at a URL similar to https://your_server_number.xenserve.com:8443/

Login to your account

Step 2

Choose 'Domains'

Once you have logged in, click on the 'Domains' option, in the left hand menu.

Choose 'Domains'

Step 3

Choose Your Site

This will bring up a list of websites you have on your Reseller Hosting account.

Locate the domain name you wish to access, then simply click on it.

Choose Your Site

Step 4

Managing your databases

This will bring up a an overview of your selected domain. To view a list of database on this domain, simply click on the button labelled 'Databases'.

Managing your databases

How to add a new database


Step 1

Choose 'Add New Database'

To create a new database, click on the button labelled 'Add New Database'

Choose 'Add New Database'

Step 6

Enter database information

This will bring up a form. Fill in the form with the relevant information, including;

  1. A database name.
  2. A database username.
  3. A password.

When you're done, click 'OK' to save your changes and create a new database.

Enter database information

How to edit your database


Step 7

Edit your database

Upon creating a new database, you will be returned to the database overview page. If you wish to edit your database via phpMyAdmin, simply click on the text reading 'phpMyAdmin'.

Editing your database

How to delete an existing database


Step 1

Remove a database

If you wish to delete an existing database, simply click on the text reading 'Remove Database'. This will remove the database permanently. It will also remove the database user associated with this database.

Remove a database

How to view your database users


Step 1

Managing your database users

When viewing the 'Databases' page, just click on the link labelled 'User Management'.

When you create a new database via Plesk, a new user is automatically created for that database. The 'Users' page provides an overview of your database users, with each user listed in a table. Along with viewing information on each user, you can edit, add or remove database users via the table.

Managing database users

How to add a new database user


Step 1

Add new database user

If you wish to add a new database user, simply click on the button labelled 'Add New Database User' when viewing the 'Users' page.

Add new database user

Step 2

Enter database user information

This will bring up a form. Simply fill in the form with the following information.

  1. A database username
  2. A password
  3. Repeat password

When you're done, click 'OK' to save your changes.

Enter database user information

How to delete an existing database user


Step 1

Remove database user

If you wish to delete a existing database user simply click on the checkbox next to the user you wish to remove. Then click on the button labelled 'Remove'. This will remove the database user permanently.

Please note: Deleting a database user does not remove the associated database.

Remove database user

Was this helpful?

   
93 people found this article helpful