How to password protect a directory or folder

Applies to:
Reseller Hosting

Difficulty:
Easy

Time Needed:
5 minutes

Introduction

This is a quick step-by-step guide for password protecting a directory or folder on a Reseller Hosting account, via the Plesk 12.5 control panel.


Article Contents


Please note: This KB article is for Reseller Hosting accounts purchased after December 2014.



Password protecting a directory or folder


Step 1

Login to your account

Firstly you'll need to login into your Plesk 12.5 control panel, which will be at a URL similar to https://your_server_number.xenserve.com:8443/

Login to your account

Step 2

Choose 'Domains'

Once you have logged in, click on the 'Domains' option, in the left hand menu.

Choose 'Domains'

Step 3

Choose Your Site

This will bring up a list of websites you have on your Reseller Hosting account.

Locate the domain name you wish to access, then simply click on it.

Choose Your Site

Step 4

Choose 'Password-Protected Directories'

This will present a list of icons. To manage password protected directories for the domain you have chosen, just click on the icon labelled 'Password-Protected Directories'.

Choose 'Password-Protected Directories'

How to add a new password protected directory


Step 1

Add Protected Directory

This will bring up the password protected directories management page. To add a new protected directory, click on the button labelled 'Add Protected Directory'.

Add Protected Directory

Step 2

Create Protected Directory

This will bring up a form. Fill in the form with the relevant information. When you're done, click 'OK' to save your changes.

Please note: Once you have clicked on 'Save Settings', the new password protected directory will be added to your list of directories. In order to access the directory, you will also need to create a user (see How to add a new password protected user).

Create Protected Directory

How to delete a password protected directory


Step 1

Remove a password protected directory

If you wish to delete a existing password protected directory, just click on the checkbox next to the directory you wish to remove. Then click on the button labelled 'Remove Protection'. This will remove the password protection from the directory, as well as any password protected users associated with that directory. It will not remove the directory or its contents from your website.

Remove a password protected directory

How to add a password protected users


Step 1

Add new password protected user

If you wish to add a new password protected user, just click on directory you wish to add a user for.

Add new password protected user

Step 2

Choose 'Add New User'

This will bring up a set of options for the directory you have chosen. Simply click on the icon labelled 'Add New User'

Enter password protected user information

Step 3

Enter password protected user information

This will bring up a form. Fill in the form with the relevant information. When you're done, click 'OK' to save your changes.

Enter password protected user information

How to delete an existing password protected user


Step 1

Remove a password protected user

If you wish to delete an existing password protected directory user, just click on the checkbox next to the user you wish to remove. Then click on the button labelled 'Remove'. This will remove the user permanently.

Please note: Deleting a password protected user does not remove the associated password protection.

Remove a password protected user

Was this helpful?

   
89 people found this article helpful