How to manage your FTP access details

Applies to:
Reseller Hosting

Difficulty:
Easy

Time Needed:
5 minutes

Introduction

This is a quick step-by-step guide to viewing, editing, adding and removing FTP users on a Reseller Hosting account, via the Plesk 12.5 control panel.


Article Contents


Please note: This KB article is for Reseller Hosting accounts purchased after December 2014.



How to view your FTP access details


Step 1

Login to your account

Firstly you'll need to login into your Plesk 12.5 control panel, which will be at a URL similar to https://your_server_number.xenserve.com:8443/

Login to your account

Step 2

Choose 'Domains'

Once you have logged in, click on the 'Domains' option, in the left hand menu.

Choose 'Domains'

Step 3

Choose Your Site

This will bring up a list of websites you have on your Reseller Hosting account.

Locate the domain name you wish to access, then simply click on it.

Choose Your Site

Step 4

Choose 'FTP Access'

This will present a list of icons. To manage FTP access for the domain you have chosen, click on the icon labelled 'FTP Access'

Choose 'FTP Access'

Step 5

Manage FTP

This will bring up an FTP management page. From this page you can edit, add and delete FTP access as you wish.

Manage FTP

How to add a new FTP user


Step 1

Add new FTP user

If you wish to add a new FTP User, just click on the button labelled 'Add New FTP Account' when viewing the 'FTP Accounts' page.

Add new FTP user

Step 2

Enter FTP user information

This will bring up a form. Fill in the form with the relevant information. When you're done, click 'OK' to save your changes.

Enter FTP user information

How to edit your FTP password


Step 1

Edit your FTP Password

Due to security reasons, it is not possible to view a password for an FTP account. If you do not know you FTP password, we recommend you reset it. To change or reset an FTP password, simply click on the user you wish to edit, when viewing the 'FTP Accounts' page.

Edit your FTP password

Step 2

Enter your new password

This will bring up a form. Fill in the fields with your new password. When you're done, click 'OK' to save your changes.

Please note: It is not possible to edit a username of an FTP user.

Enter your new password

How to delete an existing FTP User


Step 1

Remove FTP User

If you wish to delete an existing ftp user, simply click on the checkbox next to the user record you wish to remove. Then click on the button labelled 'Remove'.

Please note: It is not possible to remove the main FTP account.

Remove FTP user

Was this helpful?

   
93 people found this article helpful