the_title();

Update to staging controls on WordPress Hosting platform

When we released our WordPress Platform earlier this year, we included the ability to create a staging site for each website within your container. Today we have launched an update to the staging control panel to provide more control of your staging sites.

To access your staging site within your 34SP.com Control Panel, select the WordPress site to which you wish to add staging within your container and click staging.

New staging features include

Rollback

We are happy to give you the ability to roll back changes pushed from staging to live. This means you can push changes you have made from staging, and if you have any issues simply roll back to the previous version of your live site at any time. The database and file structure are separate, so if you wish you can roll back just the database or the files without the other.

The rollback button won’t appear until you make your first push from staging to live.  Once you have made this first push, the button will appear along with the date of the last push, allowing you to see when you will be rolling back to. Pushing the button will revert the changes ONLY on live. The changes will still be on the staging site.

 

Deleting a staging site

Should you no longer need a staging site, you can now delete it from the staging tab of the 34SP.com Control Panel.

Another new feature is the ability to see when the staging site and live site were last pulled and pushed – again this is for both files and the database.

 

Accessing MySQL admin area

PHPMyAdmin access is now available for the staging database from within the staging tab, allowing you to view, edit and query the staging database.

 

WordPress Login

Like your main site, you can now log in to the WordPress admin with a single click from the staging tab. Like the normal site login, this will look for an administrator matching your e-mail address first, before selecting the lowest id number admin user if that cannot be found.

We really hope you find the new features for staging useful!  With the rollback feature there really is no excuse not to test changes on staging and hopefully push to production without fear of breaking your site.  In the worst case scenario, going back takes only a single click.

For more information on using staging sites, visit our Knowledge Base article on creating and accessing staging sites.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply to John Cancel reply

  1. Thanks for continuing to develop this essential feature of the hosting. The rollback is a much needed addition which saves me having to download the site and database just in case I press the wrong button when I’m ready to launch changes!

    Clients are also very happy to review changes and see them pushed live so quickly.